So I moved into my new house in the District of Mopeia in Zambezia Province. My house is bigger than I expected- 2 bedrooms, an indoor “kitchen” (empty room), and a living room. The house is concrete painted light yellow and it’s really empty so I need to start decorating. The bathroom is outside unfortunately but there’s a big whole in the tin roof so I can see the stars when I’m taking my bucket bath. So my first impressions- it’s extremely hot, there are a lot of bugs everywhere, especially at night, but the town is beautiful with mango trees and goat babies and it seems like a nice, quiet little place. It is definitely rural but has the added comforts of electricity, a small hospital, a little shop that sometimes has bread, and supposedly mango and avocado seasons are coming up.

The adjustment from having 70 volunteers together to being completely alone in a site that has never had a volunteer living there before is pretty intense. I think the town just doesn’t really know what to make of me right now, and I don’t blame them! But I’ve been practicing my Portuguese with my neighbor and he has been extremely helpful. Now I just need to build up the courage to venture into the market so I can start cooking! (Yes I’ve been living off of pasta, peanut butter, and a pineapple for a week- not necessarily together). This is all a learning experience and it’s so much harder than I was anticipating, but I feel so much more accomplished. I’m just taking it one day at a time and celebrating the small victories (something that was really emphasized in training). Everyone at the office seems nice and they’ve been extremely helpful so I’m so appreciative! I’m really amazed at the work they’re doing in the community so I’m excited to join Save the Children.

Other than that- the food is still good but cooking for myself is going to be a challenge! There aren’t a lot of different vegetables available at my site so I think I’ll be eating a lot of beans once I figure out how to actually make them. But it’s beautiful here, I’m in good health, and so thankful for all the encouragement from home! I miss everyone very much and I wish everyone Happy Holidays and a Wonderful New Year! And I can read emails, comments, and get texts so keep in touch in 2010!

Namaacha where I lived for training

Aren't they cute?